Be A City Earthworm!

Hello Readers!

I apologize for my looooooong absence.  I thought that graduating from grad school would free me to blog more, but instead I have learned how inconvenient it is to blog at work without getting caught.  Lest you think that the reason I haven’t blogged has that much to do with my day job though, let me tell you about what I have been (excitedly) busy with.

Over the last 2 years I have composted using a number of methods, including worms, tumbler, and Bokashi.  As you may have guessed, each has its unique suite of advantages and drawbacks.  I even tried to rouse my neighborhood (full disclosure: 2 blocks) into composting with me by enlisting them to collect their compostables for me to pick up on a designated date.  Participation rate: 3/40 = 7.5%  Not bad, right?  In any case, I’m a big fan of composting.  I’m not saying that it’s the most fun activity in the world.  Nor am I a fanatic – I have continued to (guiltily) dump coffee grounds or onion skin or banana peel or crushed egg shells down the garbage disposal or into the trash.  But when I do compost, it really gives me a sense that I am doing something good.

Recently, bored and disgruntled with my day job, I started dreaming up ways to make me my own boss.  I looked at my little makeshift vermicomposter (consisting of 2 nested 5-gallon plastic buckets with strategically drilled holes) and the depressing assortment of composters available on the market and decided that I would design and produce an attractive indoor composter that you would not need to hide.

Image

The City Bin. Photo Credit: Deborah Lee Proano

The result is the company City Earthworm and the City Bin.  I won’t use the slick marketing spiel I wrote for the website here, but I’ve been using the City Bin, and it works well, and I think it’s pretty cute.

Image

The City Bin. Photo Credit: Deborah Lee Proano.

I am trying to bring the little prototype I have into production, which, as you may guess, is not cheap.  Thus, I have created a campaign on IndieGoGo.  Please check it out and refer it to anyone who may be interested.

Next up: many more blog posts about composting.  It’s the new biking!

Image

The City Bin. Photo Credit: Deborah Lee Proano

